• Paul Wirt

Slow Phase "Slow Phase" Album Review

Dmitri Mavra (guitar and electric piano), Anthony Pulsipher (vocals and bass), and Richard Stuverud (vocals, drums, and percussion) summon the energy and feeling of 1970's rock gods on their self-titled debut album. Slow Phase is a blend of old-school heavy-psych and hard-rock. Elements of Black Sabbath, Blue Cheer, Deep Purple, Motörhead, Sir Lord Baltimore and Led Zeppelin can be found throughout the record and there is no shortage of cranked amps, fuzzed-out guitar tones, and hard-hitting drums. "Slow Phase" (the song), starts off with a simple bluesy riff before exploding into a guitar solo infested romp courtesy of Mavra. Stuverud kicks things into high gear on "Blood Circle", "Midnight Sun", and "No Time" with killer drum performances that would make John Bonham proud. Pulsipher's bass sounds like it was plucked right out of Geezer Butler's hands circa 1971, with an appropriate amount of fuzz thickening the bottom end and giving each song the heft it deserves. Pulsipher and Stuverud's harmonize and trade vocal duties on occasion and sound right at home on Slow Phase. Closer "Let's Do It Again" finds the band slowing things down a little as it ventures into space-rock territory without losing any of the albums previously established ferociousness. If you're a fan of big riffs, guitar solos, drum solos, and heavy music in general then Slow Phase should be right up your alley.

Rating 7.3


©2020 by Music To Our Ears (Music Reviews). Proudly created with